
Lightsail instances
Amazon Lightsail
Amazon Web Services rents fixed-price Lightsail virtual servers, bundled with storage and a transfer allowance, in AWS regions worldwide.
- Cheapest, with IPv4
- $5.00/mo
- Nano-0.5GB Linux with public IPv4, 2 vCPU, 0.5 GB, 20 GB SSD
- Public IPv4
- Included
- Automatic backups
- Not stated
- Billing
- Hourly
- Billed in US dollars
- Datacenters
- 19 in 17 countries
- North America, South America, Europe, Asia, Oceania
- Run by
- Amazon.com, Inc.
- United States
Entry plans and the real monthly bill
In US dollars, per month, as listed by Amazon Lightsail (Most AWS regions (transfer allowance halved in some Asia Pacific regions and São Paulo)). IPv4 added where it's charged separately.
Swipe the table sideways for the price and the bill.
| Plan | Server | Traffic | Plan price | With IPv4 | The bill |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Nano-0.5GB Linux with public IPv4Burstable CPU: a baseline with bursts above it | 2 vCPU, 0.5 GB, 20 GB SSDShared CPU | 1 TB | $5.00Billed hourly | $5.00 | plan $5.00IPv4 included |
| Micro-1GB Linux with public IPv4Burstable CPU | 2 vCPU, 1 GB, 40 GB SSDShared CPU | 2 TB | $7.00Billed hourly | $7.00 | plan $7.00IPv4 included |
| Small-2GB Linux with public IPv4Burstable CPU | 2 vCPU, 2 GB, 60 GB SSDShared CPU | 3 TB | $12.00Billed hourly | $12.00 | plan $12.00IPv4 included |
| Medium-4GB Linux with public IPv4Burstable CPU | 2 vCPU, 4 GB, 80 GB SSDShared CPU | 4 TB | $24.00Billed hourly | $24.00 | plan $24.00IPv4 included |
Good to know
- A public IPv4 address is included in every entry plan
- Billed by the hour, so a test server costs cents
Where Amazon Lightsail has datacenters
19 in 17 countries, as listed by Amazon Lightsail.
Europe 6
- Frankfurt, Germany
- Ireland, Ireland
- London, United Kingdom
- Paris, France
- Stockholm, Sweden
- Spain, Spain
North America 4
- Northern Virginia, United States
- Ohio, United States
- Oregon, United States
- Central Canada, Canada
South America 1
- São Paulo, Brazil
Asia 7
- Hong Kong, Hong Kong
- Jakarta, Indonesia
- Malaysia, Malaysia
- Mumbai, India
- Seoul, South Korea
- Singapore, Singapore
- Tokyo, Japan
Oceania 1
- Sydney, Australia
Where it stands among 43
Each fact with every host's answer. Amazon Lightsail is outlined.
Kind of host
Big cloud
Cloud servers 14
Monthly VPS 25
Bills in
US dollars
US dollars 32
Alibaba Cloud
Amazon Lightsail
Bluehost
CivoCloudways
DigitalOceanDreamHost
GoDaddy
Google Cloud
GreenCloudHivelocity
HostHatch
hosting.comHostinger
Hostwinds
InMotion Hosting
InterServer
IONOSKamatera
LinodeLiquid Web
Microsoft Azure
NamecheapOracle Cloud
OVHcloud
RackNerd
ScalaHostingServers.com
SSD Nodes
Tencent Cloud
UltaHost
Vultr
Swiss francs 1
Public IPv4 address
In the plan price
In the plan price 36
Alibaba Cloud
Amazon Lightsail
Bluehost
CivoCloudways
Contabo
DigitalOceanDreamHost
ExoscaleGoDaddy
GreenCloudHivelocity
HostHatch
hosting.comHostinger
HOSTKEY
Hostwinds
Infomaniak
InMotion Hosting
InterServer
IONOSKamatera
LinodeLiquid Web
Namecheapnetcup
Oracle Cloud
OVHcloud
RackNerd
ScalaHostingServers.com
Tencent Cloud
Time4VPS
UltaHostUpCloud
Webdock
Charged on top 5
Not stated 2
Price after the first term
Same price
Same price 28
Goes up on renewal 11
Hourly billing
Billed by the hour
Billed by the hour 19
Monthly or longer 21
Not stated 3
Dedicated CPU in entry plans
Shared CPU only
A dedicated-CPU plan 6
Shared CPU only 13
Datacenters on
4 or more
One continent 10
2 or 3 continents 13
ARM servers
Not stated
Add-ons and extra charges
- Public IPv4
- Included In the dual-stack bundles; cheaper IPv6-only bundles have none. A static IP is free while attached, $0.005/hour when left unattached
- Automatic backups
- Not stated Automatic snapshots, billed by stored GB
- Snapshots
- $0.05 per GB-month Manual and automatic snapshots
- Extra traffic
- $90.00 per TB $0.09 per GB outbound in US East (Ohio); rates vary by region
How you pay
- Hourly billing
- YesYes On-demand hourly rate
- Minimum term
- None (hourly) Charges run until the instance is deleted, even when stopped
- Setup fee
- Not stated No setup fee wording in the cited pages
- Always-free server
- None Lightsail's own free trials were replaced by AWS Free Tier credits
- New-account credit
- Up to $200 in AWS credits for new customers ($100 at signup, up to $100 more), for up to 6 months
- Payment methods
- Card, Bank transfer, SEPA debit Major credit cards; ACH direct debit from US bank accounts; SEPA direct debit for AWS Europe accounts
- Signup checks
- Phone verification; a payment method and a $1 hold may be requested
- Refunds
- None stated; usage is prorated Deleting an instance before month end charges only the hours used
What you get
- Processors
- Not stated Plans list vCPU counts, not CPU models; instances are burstable
- ARM servers
- Not statedNot stated No Arm bundle in the cited plan lists
- IPv6 included
- YesYes Dual-stack and IPv6-only bundles include IPv6
What comes with it
- Block storage
- YesYes SSD disks attached to an instance
- Object storage
- YesYes Bucket bundles from $1/month for 5 GB
- Private network
- YesYes Private (VPC) networking between instances and AWS resources
- Cloud firewall
- YesYes Per-instance IPv4 and IPv6 firewalls
- Load balancers
- YesYes $18/month
- DDoS protection included
- YesYes AWS Shield Standard at no additional charge
- Managed databases
- MySQL, PostgreSQL From $15/month
- Managed Kubernetes
- NoNo Lightsail lists a container service, not managed Kubernetes
- API
- YesYes Lightsail REST API and SDKs
- Terraform provider
- Not statedNot stated Not stated on AWS's Lightsail pages
- Custom ISO
- Not statedNot stated Docs describe choosing blueprints; no ISO upload mentioned
- Windows
- Extra cost: Windows bundles from $9.50/month Linux bundles start at $5/month
Who you're renting from
- Company
- Amazon Web Services, Inc.
- Owned by
- Amazon.com, Inc. Lightsail is an Amazon Web Services service
- Based in
- United States Seattle, Washington
- Founded
- 2016 Year Lightsail was introduced (AWS announcement, November 2016)
- Support
- Free 24/7 support cases for account and billing; paid AWS support plans Usage questions go to docs and forums unless you pay
- Certifications
- ISO 27001, SOC 2, PCI DSS AWS-wide programmes, not stated per Lightsail component